AEW World Title Tournament Final Set

Jon Moxley and Bryan Danielson will face off at AEW Grand Slam, with the winner becoming the new AEW World Champion.

The Blackpool Combat Club members each earned their right to the final by winning their respective semi-final matches on the September 14th edition of AEW Dynamite. The show would open with Jon Moxley facing off against Sammy Guevara, with Mox winning following multiple distractions from Anna Jay and Tay Conti. Moxley would counter the GTH into a Death Rider to pick up the pinfall victory.

The main event of Dynamite would see a rematch from AEW All Out 2022, where Danielson would take on the inaugural AEW World Champion Chris Jericho. The match would start out with a chop exchange and would continue throughout. Jericho would target the left leg of Danielson, at one point putting the figure 4 onto Danielson while wrapped around the ring post. The closing moments of the match would see Jericho lock the Walls of Jericho onto Danielson, but Danielson would eventually work his way out of it. Danielson would then lock in the LeBell lock to win the match and advance to the final.

The final will take place on Wednesday September 21st inside Arthur Ashe Stadium in Queens, New York City. Danielson would defeat “Hangman” Adam Page in the opening round and Jericho in the semi-finals to advance to the final. Moxley would receive a first round bye in the tournament, before defeating Sammy Guevara to advance.

Featured image: AEW

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s