New Champions Crowned At AEW Fyter Fest

A title change took place on the July 13th Fyter Fest special edition of AEW Dynamite.

The main event of Fyter Fest night one saw Keith Lee and Swerve Strickland defeat The Young Bucks and the team of Powerhouse Hobbs and Ricky Starks to become the new AEW Tag Team Champions.

With only 2 competitors legally around in the ring at one time, multiple tags to stunt the momentum of one team was seen in the match. Powerhouse Hobbs and Keith Lee would each use their power to gain the advantage throughout the match, which the The Young Bucks tried to neutralise with minimal effect.

The closing moments of the match would see Matt Jackson strike Swerve with the title belt, but Strickland would kick out. As multiple competitors spilled to the outside, Keith Lee would dive to the outside, leaving Swerve and Ricky Starks left in the ring. Strickland would then hit the Swerve Stomp onto Starks to pick up the pinfall victory.

The victory marks the first championships won by both Swerve Strickland and Keith Lee since each made their respective debuts in All Elite Wrestling. Strickland would debut at the Revolution pay-per-view, signing a contract for AEW at the top of the stage. Keith Lee would make his surprise debut on the February 9th edition of Dynamite.

Featured image: AEW

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s